FEMALE Magazine – Winter 2013

The winter issue of FEMALE magazine is out, yay!! Not that I need any more patterns, but it is hard to resist buying this magazine – as always, I love the styling and the magazine always has something I want to make.  I really need to speed up in my sewing!!

femalew1

Anyway, let’s take a look!

Just as in the last issue, the main feature is the key trends for the upcoming season.

It is almost as if the editors of this magazine knew I wanted a simple classic jacket and a cute jumper…

femalew2

and these wool pants! For some reason I really want to make some men style pants with tucks in grey wool suiting, and this pattern looks perfect!

femalew3

Some separates you can make as a set – personally I love the peplum set especially in the fabric used in the magazine, and I think the 15-16 top and short set is also cute.

femalew4

femalew5

femalew6

I also love this shirt. I know… it’s just a shirt with a bow – but it’s so cute, I love it! Especially with the tartan skirt.

femalew13

This mini-flared skirt and dress are also useful to have. I am usually for straight mini-skirts but this year I love this flared silhouette- in fact I have a flared mini-skirt in the pipeline!

femalew14

These chino pants look cool as well!

femalew15

Coat patterns and jacket patterns:

femalew8

I really like the simple coat on the left hand side. It looks so timeless and elegant.

femalew9

Look at these dresses! So pretty! I especially like the one on the right hand side. #63 also looks very cute – if you look closely you can see the fabric is a cat face print!

femalew16

There is more, but let’s end off with some accessories:

I have been dreaming about making such a clutch for awhile!! Hope I will get around to it now that I have a pattern:)

femalew18

femalew19

femalew17

I can’t wait until the weekend to finish off my current project so I can get closer to making those cool wool pants in this magazine.  Are there any items you especially like in this issue?

This magazine is available at sew tokyo.

6 thoughts on “FEMALE Magazine – Winter 2013

  1. Hélène

    Thanks for this post. This great magazine is not available in my city (Montréal) and the styling is so inspiring. I love the simplicity of the pieces and the clever way they put them together. The little grey shirt with a bow is exquisite. I’d do it in a soft light grey flannel.

    Reply
    1. baum Post author

      you are welcome, I am happy you like the magazine:) I have never been but I heard Montreal is a very beautiful city.

      I love the shirt with bow too – you are right, soft lightweight grey flannel would make a lovely version!

      Reply
  2. Clipped Curves

    The key item light brown mini circle skirt is totally my cup of tea. I could probably draft it if I thought carefully! I do enjoy your posts about this magazine.

    Reply
    1. baum Post author

      I am glad you enjoy these posts – I really enjoy sharing my excitement about the magazine each time:) I think the skirt would look great on you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

