skirt #2

Just a quick sew from the Female magazine I wrote about in a previous post.

It is comprised of 12 panels and the waist is elasticated, but risk-adverse me had to make a muslin to test the fit and style anyway.

winterskirt2

winterskirt3

winterskirt4

winterskirt6

I am noticing since I stopped buying clothes that I am running out of bottoms to wear! Bottoms seem to not go through the test of time as well as tops do, at least in my case. So I will be on the look out for more simple patterns like this!

Quick facts:

Pattern: #20 skirt from FEMALE Magazine Autumn 2013 – size M
Adjustments: added 1 cm in length
Fabric: Kokka cotton voile

FEMALE 2013秋号に記載されてるパターンでスカートを作りました!こんなシンプルな形のスカートですが、実は合計13枚の布で構成されたデザインで縫い合わせるのが大変だった!しかもすべて袋縫いで。それでもウエイスト部分がゴムなので比較的に簡単に作れたかな。

洋服を買わず全部自分で作ると決めてからもうすぐで一年間が立ちますが、ボトムスがヘビロテの関係で皆ボロボロ!このような簡単に作れるスカートとかを何枚か作っておかないと(汗)

11 thoughts on “skirt #2

    1. Thanks Erin! I am also thinking of making more of these in different colors – easy to match with many tops and no need to with about fit too much with the elasticated waist:)

  1. Cool styling! I like the contrast between the lightness of the flowery skirt and the thickness of the fleece hood and opaque tights. Still, I wonder why “12 panels” for that kind of elasticated-waist skirt… I’d like to take a look at the construction diagram.

    1. Thanks Helene! Haha, yes thinking back I also think why I needed 12 panels :) the actual skirt is quite voluminous – my husband likens it to a cheerleader skirt. The construction consists of sewing together 2 types of panels – alternating between 1 long pizza wedge shape triangle (tip on top) and a long rectangle (narrow edges on top and bottom), then adding a waist band with elastic to gather it. Hope this makes sense!

      1. Very clear indeed! I understand that this construction makes the skirt more flared while not too thick at waist. Thanks for the explanation.

Leave a Reply

