yarn shopping in Vancouver with my knitting Sensei

(日本語は英文のあとに続きます。Text in Japanese will follow English)

While I was in Vancouver last month, I went on a yarn shopping tour with my knitting Sensei (teacher) – aka my Mom^^ aka my gardening Sensei

My mother knitted all the sweaters, mittens and scarves for my sister and I when we were young, so we had cute knitwear since we could remember. She also taught us how to knit with little plastic knitting needles for kids… unfortunately at that time we preferred more exciting games over knitting. She has even knitted for a designer knitwear label!

She has since then stopped knitting for awhile, but after I started knitting recently she also started to get hooked onto knitting again:-) Here are some of her latest creations. As a novice myself, I find it truly amazing how she can knit without a pattern, use up left over yarns in creative ways, coming up with patterns while she knits, knit even stitches that look like they are knit by machine, etc… incredible!

momknit2

This grey one is an RTW which was taken apart and re-knitted by my mom (the ribbed sleeves were left as is). I like the “angle” detail!

momknit1

Creative use of the one leftover skein of blue Malabrigo which I sent:-)

momknit3

Here are the yarn shops we went to:

Three Bags Full
4458 Main Street, Vancouver, BC, Canada V5V 3R3
Tel : 604-874-9665

Urban Yarns
4437 West 10 Avenue Vancouver, BC, Canada V6R 2H8
Tel: 604-228-1122

Wet Coast Wools
2923 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, BC, Canada V6K 1R3
Tel: 604-568-0011

Urban Yarns had the most extensive collection, including Malabrigo, Madelinetosh, Spud and Chloe… the list goes on and on. There is also the homegrown Sweet Georgia Yarns. After drooling in the shop for 20 minutes or so, I finally left with a skein of Swiss Silk by another local label Handmaiden (it is part of Fleece Artist). The colors in shimmery silks were all so beautiful, but at around CAD $40 for a skein of 400m, it was quite an indulgence so I only bought one skein to make a small scarf or wrap with. If you have not seen the Handmaiden site, please take a look! I guess it is because the silk is so shimmery, which makes the colours soooo beautiful…

momknit5

My Mom and I really had fun at Three Bags Full! As I mentioned, I thought Urban Yarns had a more extensive selection, but Three Bags Full had a very inviting, local atmosphere, and a large sale bin:-) We ended up buying some beautiful yarns, at 30% off regular price from the sale bin.

Can you imagine these beauties were in the sale bin?

momknit4

Ancient Arts BFL 4-ply fingering in Lodgewood Pine

With these beautiful yarns, I am currently working on Light Trails, the latest pattern by Suvi Sivola. The pattern is very well-written and I have had no trouble with it so far. I can’t wait to finish it and wear it before it gets warm! My knitting Sensei also bought the same yarns (in colorway Salal Jungle which is a brighter green) and is working on this pattern which I also find beautiful.

Can’t wait to go for more yarn shopping in Vancouver with my knitting Sensei again:-)!

Do you usually buy your yarns at a local shop or over the internet? If you have any recommended shops, please share!

***

先月、バンクーバーに帰省したとき、私の編み物の先生であり園芸の先生でもある母親と毛糸を買いに行ってきました!

母親はもともと編み物が大好きで、私と妹が子どもの頃、よく素敵なセーターとかマフラーを編んでくれました。子ども用の編み棒を買って私たちにもそのスキルを伝授しようとしたが、子どもの頃の私があまり編み物に興味をわかなかった。その母親ですが、有名なニットデザイナーからデザインの商品化をお願いされるほど、編むのが上手です。

その後はしばらく手を休んでいましたが、最近は私が編み物に夢中になってから母親も再度編み始めました:-) 初心者の私は、パターンもみる必要がない、パターンがなくても自分にぴったりなセーターなりカーディガンなり編める母親が本当にすごいと思っています。

これらは母親の最新作です。高い毛糸を買わず、あちらこちらで残っている毛糸を使ったり、古いセーターをリメイクするのが私の母のスタイルです。

momknit2

グレイのセーターは古いものからのリメイク(袖の下の部分はオリジナルのものを残して)

momknit1

使えきれなかったMalabrigoの毛糸を実家に送ったら、母親がそれを使って素敵なカーディガンを作りました!

momknit3

私にとっては、もう魔法使いに領域だといっても過言でありません。

この3軒に母親と足を運びました。

Three Bags Full
4458 Main Street, Vancouver, BC, Canada V5V 3R3
Tel : 604-874-9665

Urban Yarns
4437 West 10 Avenue Vancouver, BC, Canada V6R 2H8
Tel: 604-228-1122

Wet Coast Wools
2923 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, BC, Canada V6K 1R3
Tel: 604-568-0011

Urban Yarnsさんは一番セレクションが充実していました。Malabrigo, Madelinetosh, Spud and Chloe…その他のブランドもたくさんおいてあります。カナダのブランドであるのSweet Georgia Yarnsももちろんおいてある。店内で20分ほどいろいろみて悩んだあげく、同じくカナダのブランドのHandmaidenFleece Artistのサブブランド)のSwiss Silkを1点購入。1玉(1 skein @ 400m) がカナダドル$40で高めですが、シルキーで本当にきれいな発色がとても魅力的で思わず買いました。とても素敵なストールができると思います。

momknit5

私たちが一番楽しかったお店がThree Bags Fullでした。毛糸のセレクションはUrban Yarnsほど豊富ではなかったが、それでもかなり素敵で十分に豊富なセレクションがあって、雰囲気がにぎやかで居心地がとてもよかったです。お店の億にある30%〜50%オフのセールコーナーもかなりセレクションがよかった!私と母親は結局、1人3玉ずつセールコーナーから買っちゃいました:-)

こんなに素敵な毛糸が30%オフで買えるのは本当にラッキーでした♪

momknit4

Ancient Arts BFL 4-ply fingering in Lodgewood Pine

この毛糸を使って、Suvi Sivolaさんの最新パターンLight Trailsを編んでいます。大変よく書かれたパターンで、いままで全然問題なく編んでいます。暖かくなる前に編み終えたいよ〜

ちなみに私の母親は同じ毛糸の”Salal Jungle”というもう少し明るい緑の毛糸を3玉買って、このとても素敵なパターンを編んでいます。

次の帰省でまた母親と毛糸ショッピングに行くことを楽しみ♪♪

海外の毛糸は皆さんはどうやって手に入れていますか。

5 thoughts on “yarn shopping in Vancouver with my knitting Sensei

  1. I lived an hour away from Vancouver last year and whenever we went into the city I loved visiting Urban Yarns precisely because of the excellent yarn selection! I do prefer to purchase yarn at a local store – better to touch and see the colours in person, right? You are so lucky that your mom is such a knitting pro and that you can pick her brain about technique whenever you want.

    1. Oh, you are so lucky you live relatively close to Urban Yarns! I am envious…but then probably dangerous for my wallet if I live too close :-) I agree it is much better to go to a store to see the colors and feel of the yarns.

  2. Your Sensei has an admirable talent, and so do you. When I read the title of your post I thought you would talk about a teacher in a knitting class. For me, this passing of skills and interests through generations is the ultimate expression of happiness! It reminds me of my own mom and I truly hope to be able to pass along some skills to my own daughter… Many thanks for this meaningful post,

    1. Thanks for your nice comment Helene! I do feel very happy that I share a hobby with my mom and we can get excited about knitting together:-) I hope your daughter would enjoy learning your skills from you, she is lucky to have a crafty mom!

Leave a Reply

