salmon with pesto crust and quinoa risotto

I don’t have a picture for this post, for everything was eaten up quite quickly!

First, I finally harvested the basil from the garden and made pesto using the traditional Italian grandmother method (finely chopping basil using knife, and then combining it with finely chopped pine nuts, adding olive oil and “grinding” the mixture a bit in a bowl using a wooden pestle). I am quite proud and relieved I was able to harvest and preserve the basil before it is too late:)

I then found a really great and easy recipe to use the pesto – salmon with lemon pesto crust on BBC Good Food. Here is how easy it is:

Salmon with lemon pesto crust

Ingredients:

  • 2 pcs of salmon filet
  • lemon zest (I used 1 tsp)
  • 2 tbsp pesto
  • A handful of breadcrumbs

Method:

  1. Mix the latter three ingredients, press mixture onto the salmon filets, transfer onto foil-lined baking sheet and bake in preheated oven at 200 degrees C for 15-20 minutes.
  2. Salt and pepper to taste and serve with a wedge of lemon.

I served this with a make-shift quinoa risotto as I only had quinoa and no rice in my pantry. It turned out really tasty and my husband and I liked it a lot! Here’s how it was made:

Easy quinoa risotto

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tbsp dried Parmesan cheese

Method:

  1. Cook quinoa in broth with a bay leaf- takes 10-15 minutes.
  2. Add olive oil, the rest of the herbs, and Parmesan cheese
  3. Add milk last and stir. Salt and pepper to taste.

These two dishes were such a surprising success! My husband and I will be hosting the family Christmas get-together dinner this year for the first time, and this easy, no-stress yet elegant meal is certainly on our list if possibilities🙂

One thought on “salmon with pesto crust and quinoa risotto

Leave a Reply

