real work clothes: cord shorts

DSC_1444

I decided to subscribe to Burdastyle magazine for three issues after buying the February 2013 issue because there are so many nice patterns in it. For example, the Paule Ka dress and the Chanel-like jacket, so beautiful and the jacket especially is ultimately what I want to make for my wardrobe!  However I was attracted to the more simple, casual items which I know I would wear endless times- the college girls series of boyfriend shirt, and pleated shorts, etc.

I first finished the pleated shorts. They are so simple to make and fit perfectly, I only adjusted the pattern lengthwise a little for my height. I think they will look nice also with a blazer for work, or with a hoodie for the weekend.

The material is a thin blackish grey cotton corduroy which gives off a nice shine and changes expressions like velvet in different angles.

I am so in love with them!  Actually, I was starting to feel uneasy about my New Year’s resolution to make my own clothes, worrying that what I have made so far look too homemade. But these shorts don’t look homemade at all, and gives me new “energy” to continue with my NY resolution:)

DSC_1443

DSC_1447 DSC_1458

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ
にほんブログ村
にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ
にほんブログ村

2 thoughts on “real work clothes: cord shorts

Leave a Reply

