Spring planting and hanami (cherry blossom viewing)

Last weekend was the peak weekend for cherry blossom viewing in Tokyo. As per previous years, I go to the Meguro River to see the blossoms (and turn back pretty quickly as there is always large crowds). This is the first spring I spend in my new apartment/garden, and I am happy to report that we also have a cherry blossom view from our balcony!

 DSC_1595
I finally cleaned up the balcony and did some more spring planting.
 DSC_1614
The stock flowers which were the liveliest during the winter, were the first ones to go in the spring – it died due to a plant disease… I replaced it with several species (ivy, petunia, and Pennyroyal). I know that eventually all these space-demanding plants will require their own homes but I guess for now they should do fine together.
 DSC_1601
I also bought another pink flower (I don’t know the name but love its colour). As you can see it is very pink in the garden this year.
DSC_1594
 DSC_1603
Speaking of pink, look at the Camella , it looks like it will flower very soon!
DSC_1608
The herbs are starting to grow again! And the thyme and oregano turning green again! I am relieved as they turned red in the winter so I was not sure whether they would “recover” in spring.
DSC_1592
The pansies are still flourishing – its delicate but strong flowers overflowing from the planter. I also got some “Forget Me Not” and planted it with the other small flowers which were already in the garden.
 DSC_1588
DSC_1609 DSC_1610
I should make the pepper pesticide spray again. Spring means growth – for the flowers and also for plant diseases!

Leave a Reply

