wearing handmade: all it needed was a belt

Have you made something not because you loved the style but for other reasons, ie. the pattern looks easy to make, the leftover fabric would just be enough to make this… to satisfy a sudden sewing urge, etc.? Then, do you actually wear the item or does it take permanent place in your closet?

The wing dress which was made using fabric I bought for my niece’s dress (I then found nicer and softer fabric for her🙂 ) was in danger of being a permanent closet resident.

Until I bought a belt for it.

Now it is the most-worn item in my handmade collection! ^^

DSC_1572

DSC_1579

Belt: Forever 21

Before I started sewing, I did not pay much attention to fashion or styling (my closet was pretty much full of black or more daringly grey or navy colored classic pieces).  Sewing leads me to think more about how I can pair up accessories with my handmade clothes to make them look better, and makes me more tempted to try different colors and styles (I love black pants and white t-shirts but I am more interested (hobby-wise) to sew a pink dress, or a flowery blouse for instance:)

How did sewing change your perspective on clothing?

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ
にほんブログ村
にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ
にほんブログ村

8 thoughts on “wearing handmade: all it needed was a belt

  1. Such a wonderful dress, you look awesome in it! Hehe I can totally relate to the belt trick, as I love making loose fitting dresses and tops I often have to wear one. Also before sewing I would always wear a black top with dark denim jeans and now my wardrobe is so much more varied, I’ve discovered flowers, stripes, dots…🙂

    1. Thank you:-)
      I will definitely want to try more Japanese patterns (which seem in general more loose-fitting) now that I can count on wearing them with belts! I love your “R” dress with belt look, really nice:-)

  2. I too had a wardrobe consisting of predominantly black until I discovered sewing. I wouldn’t say it has made me think about accessories more, though I have expanded my belt collection, but it has certainly opened me up to colours and patterns. Now my wardrobe is like a rainbow and I LOVE it! I really like you dress and I can see why you wear it so much. Good job hun xXx

    1. Thanks! You are so kind:) Looking at the work of my fellow sewing enthusiasts on the internet inspire me want to see more colorful stuff too. I am sure my closet will be a rainbow of colors like yours in no time:-)

      1. I think there is something about making your own clothes that gives you the confidence to wear new styles and colours. I love it. I look forward to seeing more of your creations xxx

      2. Haha, so true. Since I made this, I “must” wear it though it is not usually my style (wink wink)🙂. It is so much fun to discover more styles this way. Look forward to seeing your new creations as well!🙂

Leave a Reply

