wearing handmade: cheongsam incognito

hello! It has been awhile since my last post. I had been distracted by some knitting after I bought a beautiful Japanese knitting book – now the apartment is full of fabric AND of yarn! Hubby is speechless:-)

I have also attempted the Belladone by Deer and Doe Patterns. It is still in the works after I almost finished it and realised it is too tight for me… I guess I was too optimistic (optimistically thinner and belly-less) when I tried the muslin😦  more about this hopefully, if I manage to summon enough patience to rip the zipper out and make it bigger.

This is another handmade item which I never wore as is but plan to wear it with this bit of styling fix.

I love cheongsam dresses (mandarin collar dress) and made this in linen awhile back, thinking it could become everyday wear in the summer.  But the reality is that it takes quite a bit of courage (for me) to wear it a regular day. I think pairing it with a summer knit and white flats takes the “cheongsam-ness” to a more subtle level for roaming around the city:)

DSC_1559 DSC_1557 DSC_1550

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ
にほんブログ村
にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ
にほんブログ村

19 thoughts on “wearing handmade: cheongsam incognito

  1. What a lovely dress. So figure fitting and flattering! I agree with Cecili the gingham makes it really unique and gives it a lovely springtime feel! Such a fantastic finish!

    1. Thank you Yangsze!! I am so happy to hear you like it. I used a vintage pattern (Vogue 5571). I finally got a copy of that pattern book you mentioned (Elegant China) so I plan to make one from that next time.

      PS congratulations again on your Barnes & Noble honour and look forward to more updates on book tours and your book!

      1. Thank you🙂 I’m dying to see any cheongsam you make from “Elegant China”! I’m always terrified of doing the collar but it looks like you’ve done a wonderful job here.

      2. Haha, the buttons placement was for me the most terrifying🙂 I bought a nice fabric which I think would be perfect for a pattern in Elegant China- now just need to summon up enough power to start^^;

    1. thank you!
      I love your post on the 21 cheongsams of “In the Mood for Love”.. it must have taken you so long! so inspirational for future cheongsam sewing projects:)

  2. I love this dress! I also really like Cheongsam dresses but I haven’t figured out a way to wear them that doesn’t look super formal … this works really well!

Leave a Reply

