just another pair of pants (but my first ones handmade!)

Pants!  Trousers! While they are quite wonky and are not to be looked at up close, I am quite proud that I made a pair of trousers!

burdapant1

When I was in uni I worked part-time in a clothing boutique with great-fitting pants in very nice wools and gabardines (at handsome prices) and I had envied the working adults who would come into the shop to buy those pants.  At the end of uni, my mom gave me money to buy a pair of them (in fact the pants and the matching jacket and skirt) as a graduation gift.  Years later (in fact even just last week) I am still wearing those pants (in fact jacket as well) I guess I don’t wear them regularly so they are still in great shape.  Now that I can sew I wanted to make another pair of great fitting trousers with a good-quality fabric.

I used the Editorial Pants pattern #118C in Burdastyle 08/2013 – I like the whole outfit in the magazine, both the jacket and the pants, but it will probably take me quite awhile to make this jacket. The fabric I used is Italian wool gabardine, which I got for a very good price at my beloved fabric shop Marunan‘s closing liquidation.

burdapant3 burdapant4 burdapant7

I am happy about the way it turned out providing that I had only made a part muslin to quickly test the waist /hip size.  For me, Burdastyle patterns fit quite well and this time I did not have to make any adjustments to the pattern except shortening the hem. As you can see from the creases around the crotch area, I should have lengthened the top part of the pants a little. This project was an intensive learning experience for me – I learned to make welt pockets, and also to sew buttonholes! I don’t know if daring to sew with a pant pattern without diagrams/details for my first pair was a good idea, I got quite lost with the instructions (especially since for my last few projects I had sewed with Indie patterns and got used to being guided through step-by-step with diagrams). Luckily, there is the internet with tons of useful tutorials:-)

messy buttonholes (the outer one is too huge and I accidentally slashed through a lot of threads for the inside buttonhole)

burdapant8

welts pockets turned out better than I thought though they do not lay flat

burdapant9

burdapant10

So here, my first pair of pants!  They are not perfect and from looking at the lines /creases in the photos not even that well-fitting but I think I will wear them quite a bit^^ I am also excited about making more pants.

Quick facts:

Pattern: Burdastyle 08/2013 #118C

Fabric: Wool gabardine

Adjustments: none except for shortening the hem.  Note to self to lengthen waist/hip area next time!

Do you have any pant patterns you prefer? (fits well, easy to make…) 

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ
にほんブログ村
にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ
にほんブログ村

20 thoughts on “just another pair of pants (but my first ones handmade!)

  1. Amazing fit! I can’t believe it’s your first try on these tricky pockets. Excellent work. Plus, you got such a nice silhouette, you could model for Burda!

    1. thanks Hélène, your kind complement made my day!😀
      I was so frustrated when I was trying to figure out the pockets but I am so glad they worked out.

  2. Wow, these trousers fit you just perfectly! You did a terrific job on them. The welt pockets look to lie pretty flat to me, from the pics. Enjoy wearing them!

    1. Thank you!! If you can survive all the buttonholes of the Hawthorn, pants should be easy: ) I think perhaps the Juniper pant pattern by Colette would have been a good starting point to master the basics of making pants – ie. how to sew the fly, etc. I have no idea if I sewed the fly as I was supposed to ^^;

  3. You did so well, I see no flaws in the trousers! I envy people who can make trousers, it definitely takes skill🙂

  4. Wow, you did a great job with these pants. I found your blog on google because of a pic of these. I think the only thing wrong with them is that you need more width on the inside leg seam. The creases are showing strain over the front thigh area because that area is pulling fabric from between your legs. This also explains the creases in the back.

    Luckily, you can see exactly how much width you need to add in the 2nd and 4th pictures. Note how your crease does not hang straight. That difference right there (the bend it makes) is the amount you need to add to that inner seam, so maybe 1/2″? I hope you make them again because you are so close to a perfect fit!

    1. thank you very much for your advice! I knew I had to add more fabric but not sure if it was the length (from waist to crotch) or width – your advice makes a lot of sense! Since then I tried to make another Burdastyle pant and had a similar issue (it remains an unfinished item) – I am now hoping I will get around to making these again! I really appreciate your detailed advice:-)

Leave a Reply

