MRS STYLE BOOK A/W 2013

I am so happy it’s finally out – MRS STYLE BOOK Autumn/Winter 2013!!

mrsstylebookaw201301

Actually, this is the second Mrs Stylebook I purchased.  I purchased my first one (not knowing full-sized patterns are not included) when I first started sewing and the idea having only instructions to draft the pattern using a block kind of turned me off so I quickly put the magazine away without giving it a chance.

That’s right, Mrs. Stylebook is like a fashion magazine, except that there are instructions on how to draft patterns for/reproduce almost all of the clothing the models are wearing! Very cool! Especially since it gives instructions on drafting off-the-rack clothing from Japanese designers which I think are actually currently selling in shops. Some of the designer patterns included are ones from Japanese clothing label M’s Gracy, as well as from renowned designers Atsuro Tayama, and Yuki Torii.

Anyway, let’s look at some pictures from this issue!

Here are some of the featured designer patterns mentioned above. So stylish!

mrsstylebookaw201304

I really like the dress in the picture below and this is one of the reasons I bought this issue.

mrsstylebookaw201303

The interesting thing about this magazine is that not only do they give you the diagrams and instructions to draft the patterns for the clothing, they also give you the retail price of the clothing (you can buy it) as most of them are from designers for Japanese clothing labels.  The retail price of this reversible wool coat in beige and black in the picture below is 220,500 JPY (which is today roughly USD $2,500 / 1,650 Euro / 1,400 GBP) – I am happy I can sew my own clothes!

mrsstylebookaw201302

This is the second reason I was convinced to buy this issue – instructions for drafting 7 pairs of pants and 8 skirts!  I have been very much wanting to sew more basic items and this selection appealed a lot to me.

mrsstylebookaw201310

mrsstylebookaw201311

Third reason I love this issue – I am a sucker for jacket patterns and I like this tweedy jacket in the picture below.

mrsstylebookaw201309

some nice tops!

mrsstylebookaw201308

and sooo many more things which would be nice to make one day:)

mrsstylebookaw201307

mrsstylebookaw201305

mrsstylebookaw201316

These coats are pretty stylish!

mrsstylebookaw201306

I don’t know what is it about this bottom right jacket but I like it a lot.

mrsstylebookaw201312

Some actual size patterns are included in each issue, and in this issue there are two real size coat patterns with step-by-step instructions.

I like the classic peacoat with bright fabric.

mrsstylebookaw201313 mrsstylebookaw201314

Lastly, here is what the instructions/diagrams pages look like for many of the pieces of clothing.mrsstylebookaw201316F

For the featured designer patterns (the top three you see above) there are only very simple diagrams of how to draft it yourself but no instructions and no sewing instructions/diagrams on how to sew! I guess one must have to be very experienced to use them.

Are you a little in love about this magazine like I am? There are so many things I want to sew already that I don’t know if I have time but would love to try to draft one of these! I saw some tutorials on making my own block on Burdastyle which I would love to try one day soon.

This magazine is available at sew tokyo.

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ
にほんブログ村
にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ
にほんブログ村

6 thoughts on “MRS STYLE BOOK A/W 2013

    1. So true… the hurdle to draft one of these is very high, especially the first time, hence knowing myself it may take awhile to make something from this magazine. However, I love this idea of getting the instructions on how to draft designer patterns to one’s own size! On another note, there is an option to order a block from Bunka Publishing (which publishes the magazine) at around USD$5, which is a great resource to start. I have just been too lazy to mail in my order!

    1. Yes, sooo many choices and it is fun just looking at it! I feel like I am reading a nice home shopping catalog but in this case I could draft and sew instead of order the items (much better for my wallet:)

Leave a Reply

