Marine Top on Marine Day

日本語は英文のあとに続きます。

Hi everyone!

It’s the end of the three-day weekend in Japan (Marine Day today!) Instead of going to the beach, I spent another relaxing day at home sewing and house-making:-) Sounds a little unbelievable especially for those who know me, but I start to enjoy doing chores quite a bit since moving to our new house.

marineknit7

marineknit6

Anyway, what  a better way to end Marine Day by sharing with you my marine knit top, which I just finished blocking today! It is pattern K from Kazekobo’s Simple Summer Knits and I used a Japanese yarn which is a cotton/linen blend, as well as a cotton lace yarn (the pattern tells you to use the colour yarn and the off-white lace yarn at once so you get a specked effect).  I made it exactly according to the book, in the same colours too! Not because I was lazy per say but I like this colour combination (my husband, however, has a different opinion^^;

marineknit5

It is super simple to knit but it was a pain to have to change yarns every 8 rows. Also, I don’t know what I did wrong but the neckline part is not the prettiest… there was a point I became so frustrated I thought about giving up but I am glad I followed through to finish it. It looked pretty puffy and like something I would not wear after I knitted it, thank goodness wet-blocking flattened it and made it a lot nicer!!  The pattern is one-size fits all, and I think the fit is not too bad:D

marineknit4

Sorry for the blurry pictures…. I was so excited about finding this new photo spot in our house! On the display on the camera they didn’t look so blurry…

And in case you are wondering why I am not wearing my shoes… I tried but couldn’t put them on in time for the 15-second camera timer:P

marineknit8

marineknit9

marineknit10

marineknit11

As usual, let me introduce the book I used while I am at it. I bought the book last summer and now looking back it is interesting to see how my taste changed in one year… the things I want to make now are completely different from those I wanted to make last year (though the Breton is still high on my list for this year too!)

marineknit13

This lacey vest was on my to-make list last year.

marineknit14

I still want to make this Breton top!

marineknit15

Love the waffle-ly texture of this vest/shawl.

marineknit16

On last year’s to do list.

marineknit17

Again, love this interesting texture…

marineknit18 hey, my top!

marineknit19

marineknit20

marineknit21

marineknit22

Love this retro-looking scarf.

marineknit23

I used to think that knitting is only for the winter season and there is no need for knitted items in the summer but I proved myself wrong! This year I have been wearing every weekend the lacey linen top I made last summer (and which I am guilty of labelling “meh, it’s not very me” in my 2013 round up…)  I am already planning another summer knit project for this year!

And how about you, any summer items on your knitting needles currently?

Kazekobo’s Simple Summer Knits is available at sew tokyo.

 ***

みなさんは何をして三連休を過ごしましたか。私は、海に行かないでずっと家かその近所にいて編み物したり、洋服を作ったりしてすごくのんびりして過ごしました。編んでいたセーターを編み終えて、ブロッキングし、ちょうど海の日の今日、夏らしいボーダーセーターが完成しました!

上記の英文のほうで記載されている「風工房のシンプル夏ニット、こもの」のパターンKのフレンチスリーブセーターで、ワンサイズです。本に記載されている作品の色を気に入り、そのままマネしちゃいました!この作品はハマナカフラックスKとハマナカポームレースを各1本の2本取りで編みます。

メリヤス編みとガーター編みのみのパターンなので、簡単でしたが8段毎に毛糸を変えるのが面倒でした。また、えりぐりの部分はなかなかうまく進めず途中であきらめそうだったが、やっと編み終えたことにほっとしました。ブロッキングする前はフレンチスリーブがパフスリーブのようにみえ、「時間をいっぱいかけて作ったのに、これは着れないな、、、」と心配しましたが、ブロッキングが終わったらちゃんとしたフレンチスリーブのトップスになりました。

いつもセルフタイマーで写真をとっているのですが、今日に限ってほぼすべての写真のピントが合わなかった:-( また、今日選んだ靴は、履くのに時間がかかりすぎてセルフタイマーの最長時間(15秒)に設定しても間に合わなかったので、裸足で、、、(笑)

編み物は冬の趣味と考えがちですが、リネンやコットンの毛糸を使ったセーターとカーディガンなら軽くて涼しくて夏に着ても全然OKだと思います。昨年の夏に初めて編んだリネンセーター(昨年はまったくといっていいほど着なかったのに)を今年の夏ヘビロテしているし、ファストファッションのお店で買う冷房対策用のカーディガンより自分で編んだ方がずっと大切にできると思います。

みなさんは、この夏何か編んでいますか。

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 編み物(Ravelryパターン)へ
にほんブログ村

6 thoughts on “Marine Top on Marine Day

  1. Wow, your top looks exactly like the picture in the book! I like the colours, looks very relaxing.. I’ve got a couple of oldish Couture Knit from Japan, patterns there are awesome!

  2. I love your top, it’s beautiful, the stitches are so regular and the yarn looks super soft, it must be a pleasure to wear! And the patterns in your book are great, I’m eager to see what you’ll make next🙂

Leave a Reply

