Mrs. Stylebook AW 2014-15

mrsstylebookaw2014

Another Mrs. Stylebook came home with me from the bookstore – the Autumn/Winter 2014-15 issue. I am a fan of the autumn/winter issues because last year they had some great patterns, and this year the magazine also did not disappoint. Let’s start, shall we?

First my favourite section of the magazine, the designer patterns.

I love the colour of this coat by Japanese designer Keiko Suzuki.

mrsstylebookaw2014.2

This is also a great outfit (designer is Machiko Jinto London)

mrsstylebookaw2014.3

This magazine is not for the “coat-indecisive”… (me…) I loooove this off-white coat. In fact, I love everything about this outfit! (designer: Michiko Jinto London).

mrsstylebookaw2014.5

A pattern to make a stylish quilted vest? Yes, please!  (designer: KEI Hayama PLUS)

mrsstylebookaw2014.6

A T-shirt pattern and a bomber jacket pattern by local apparel shop Garde Collective.

mrsstylebookaw2014.7

There is also a pattern for a coat retailing at 165,000 JPY (approx. 1,600 USD)!  It is not something I would make personally but it does have a lot of colour blocking potential.

mrsstylebookaw2014.4

Let’s move to my next favourite section, more patterns by actual clothing brands.

I am a great fan of the styling and the color-scheme! The separates on the left are made of knits, and would make a warm and comfy work outfit (by French brand Georges Rech)

mrsstylebookaw2014.11

Other than the off-white coat above, this salmon pink coat is my second favourite pattern in the magazine (brand: Espie). I think it would look nice in classic dark colors, too. I saw the exact same coat for sale on the brand’s e-commerce website at 42,000 JPY (400 USD), which is what I might have considered paying for a nice coat before my sewing days – now I think about how many meters of fabric I can buy with that amount instead:-)

mrsstylebookaw2014.12

Then as usual we have the “wardrobe” builder section with many many patterns. As the magazine was released when it just started to get cold, I guess, it definitely has enough patterns for you to make a whole new wardrobe (or two) for the cooler weather!

Patterns for sewing with knit fabrics (I do quite like 3 & 12).

mrsstylebookaw2014.14

mrsstylebookaw2014.15

Jacket, dresses and blouse patterns

mrsstylebookaw2014.16

mrsstylebookaw2014.17

mrsstylebookaw2014.18

I do love the pant section – especially the pattern for shorts (#35) and slim pants (#40)

mrsstylebookaw2014.20

The skirts are quite nice, too. I prefer zipper closings over an elasticated waistband, and am happy to see two of the patterns (#30 and #33) have this feature.

mrsstylebookaw2014.19

While only drafting instructions (for the designer patterns plus wardrobe staple patterns) and drafting instructions + sewing instructions (for featured patterns) are included, Mrs. Stylebook always comes with some patterns that come with actual pattern sheets as well:-) I guess that is how they can cater to everyone from beginners to experts. This issue comes with 6 actual-sized patterns (plus a variation for each): a dress, a coat-dress, a flared skirt, a gathered skirt, a tunic and a jacket.  The variations (as seen in the bottom two photographs, involve a change to make the items more winter-friendly).

mrsstylebookaw2014.28

mrsstylebookaw2014.27

mrsstylebookaw2014.26

mrsstylebookaw2014.30

mrsstylebookaw2014.32

I always like that they include some patterns for accessories as well. This time there are some bag patterns. I especially like the square bag on the right!mrsstylebookaw2014.25

There are many more patterns and styling tips (pictures) which I always love and learn from.

Looking at this book always makes me wish I had more (a lot more) sewing time:-) I think I talk about learning to draft a sloper so I can use these patterns after each of my Mrs. Stylebook reviews, and I actually did try to draft one but gave up part-way. I have a standard Bunka sloper so I may just try to adjust it to fit me instead.

What do you think of this issue of Mrs Stylebook? Do you have your own sloper yet? (if so how long did it take you to make it?) 

Mrs. Stylebook AW 2014 is available at Sew Tokyo

***

ミセスのスタイルブックが発売される度に購入していますが、いまだ1つも作っていません。かわいくて高級感が溢れるおしゃれなお洋服が作れそうなパターンが多数載っているので、「(ソーイングの)時間が足りない〜もっと時間がほしい〜!」と思わせる雑誌です(笑)。いつか自分の原型を作ってミセススタイルブックのパターンを使おうと何度も思った事があって、実際に一回チャレンジしてみたが、途中であきらめてしまいました(泣)。

作らないと思いますが、素敵なコートのパターンがたくさん載っているのが魅力的でつい買ってしまいました。皆さんは秋冬号を買いましたか。

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ
にほんブログ村
にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ
にほんブログ村

6 thoughts on “Mrs. Stylebook AW 2014-15

    1. Hi Hélène, thanks for your comment. I also like this magazine a lot:-D Unfortunately, I think it is currently only available in Japanese. If it is of any help, the instructions for pattern manipulation consist mainly of detailed diagrams with measurements of how to manipulate the sloper (the labels of what the various parts are, though are in Japanese) and a very concise diagram with labels in Japanese of how to sew (if there is a particular way to layer the fabric or place the button, etc.) I hope this helps and if you have further questions please let me know:-D

  1. I enjoy your reviews of Mrs Style, it’s always a timely reminder for me to check whether the latest issue has arrived at Kinokuniya. This is the first time I bought the issue before your reviews. It’s still interesting for me to read your review and to note that some of these patterns are based off designs from brands. I can’t read a word of Japanese😦
    Yes, I have made a sloper (the one with only the bust point) and it wasn’t that difficult. Just had to follow the sequence, pay attention to all the different numbers and calculations. For the other sloper (the one with darts), I have a pattern sheet from an earlier Mrs Style issue that included the sloper pattern in many sizes. I have the Bunka book too and I remember just glancing for a visual comparison of some of the numbers, and I cannot say for sure, but it did seem like the Mrs Style sloper is similar to the Bunka sloper, so I think you can use it.
    I made a dress and I wrote a bit about the process here : https://www.flickr.com/photos/8428033@N06/15473756192/in/photostream/
    and here:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/8428033@N06/15287399870/in/photostream/
    The finished dress is here:https://www.flickr.com/photos/8428033@N06/15403560447/in/photostream/
    I had to modify the pleat instructions to achieve pleats that looked like the photo.
    But overall the process wasn’t that painful, and I am going to make more clothes from these patterns. As you said, wish I had more time🙂 Hope you will have success giving these patterns a go too!
    And thanks for your reviews, I’m an avid reader of your blog!

    1. Hi Erin,

      Thanks for commenting and for reading my blog. It makes me really happy to hear you like it and enjoy the Mrs Stylebook reviews:-) ! I love sewing magazines and books so I am always very excited to share!

      Thank you for sharing about your experience with making a dress from Mrs Stylebook – your finished version is very nice! Those pleats make it look quite unique. It must be so satisfying to draft a sloper, then draft pattern pieces (+figure out how to make the pleats), and then sew the dress! I am sure by the time you drafted the pattern pieces the sewing part must have felt like a piece of cake:D sounds like it is worth the time it took to draft as now you can make more from Mrs Stylebook! very envious and hope to have a go at it myself soon

      I also have “I Love Tops” and that top you made is on my loong to sew list too:-)

  2. This is an interesting article. Thank you. I am very interested in the Japanese approach to design. I have made my own sloper. I would say for a bodice block it takes around two hours to draft it, maybe the same again to make it up in calico and fit it, and then an hour to alter the sloper so it is just right for you. So, using a book, and having some help with the fitting if possible, I would say 5 hours.

    1. Thank you for reading my blog:-) I find the details on the Japanese patterns very nice but a lot of them seem to have a looser intended fit, so would be great to have a sloper to make a better fitting version. It sounds manageable if it can be done in 5 hours from start to finish – thanks for the info🙂 ! and I am very happy I found your blog – I am enjoying reading it a lot!

Leave a Reply

