a cozy Bernadette

日本語は英文の後に続きます。(For Japanese readers, Japanese text will follow after the English) Hello! I can’t believe it is already the beginning of December – Christmas decorations are already up everywhere in Tokyo. This year has really flown by for me! Talk about time flying, I finally completed a jacket I talked about starting way back in August, from the Bernadette pattern by Republique du Chiffon. bernadette1 bernadette4 I had cut the pattern in August and made a muslin, but found it too shapeless for my needs for a well-fitting jacket I can wear to the office (… my fault, for I had cut the size which corresponds to my measurements, though I had known from experience working with this label’s patterns that I prefer the fit in one size smaller… ). bernadette2 Long story short, I gave up for awhile but recently got interested in making a Chanel-type jacket again. I was mainly inspired by the colours and shapes of the brand Iro. When I found this black-grey wool tweed fabric, I knew I wanted to make a Bernadette! This fabric is nice and warm, and perhaps a little thick and cozy-looking for this jacket, but I love it nonetheless, especially since it is quite cold already in Tokyo! I have relatively slanted shoulders so the jacket kept sliding off me when I first finished it, and my husband was not the biggest fan, so I kind of let the poor jacket sit on the back burner for awhile. Then one day I added shoulder pads, and voila… I think it sits much better now (these are “after” – with shoulder pads – shots), and it even received a compliment from the husband:-) I am very proud of this jacket and have worn it quite a few times to work already! The pattern instructions are very clear, and guides you to make a very neat, lined jacket. Look at the inside! I was so proud that I took off my jacket at work to show off the insides to my colleagues:-) bernadette5 Isn’t it neat? The first item I made in which there is no tell-tale trace of impatient finishing, etc. because it is lined and all seam allowances are hidden from sight! (the pattern calls for turning the entire jacket over through one of the sleeves – just like how I had to do when I made a bag for my niece – how neat!). I guess this is what they call a bagged lining? It also helps that the fabric would have camouflaged any mistakes anyways, hehe. bernadette7 bernadette8 I love wearing jackets to work! I am now making another one (classic one with collar) which I hope I can get done this weekend. It’s the time of the year to think about Christmas presents. I was so optimistic about making Christmas presents (clothes) for my loved ones after all my selfish makes, but looks like the timeline is a bit tight…yikes! Thank you for reading:-)  Are you planning on making any handmade gifts for your loved ones this year? ***Details*** Pattern: Bernadette by Republique du Chiffon Size & adjustments: size 34, added 2 cm in total to length. Added shoulder pads and stabilised the front edges with fusible interfacing tape. Fabric: Wool tweed (outer) / Rayon Bemberg (lining)

***

こんにちは。クリスマスがやってくる季節になりましたね。今年は新しい職場に入ったからか、時間がとてもはやく経ったような気がします。

夏の終わりに作り始めたRepublique du ChiffonのBernadetteジャケットをようやく完成しました!

最初選んだサイズが大き過ぎたせいで仮縫いした物がブカブカでしたのでしばらく放置。

しばらくしたら、やっぱりシャネル風ジャケットがほしかったので、再度型紙を取り出しました。2回目は一番小さいサイズ(サイズ34)を作りました。少しなで肩だからか、サイズ34でも肩あたりが大きくて、肩から滑り落ちたりして、イメージしていた会社に着れる「きちんとしたジャケット」のとは違ったので、まだしばらく放置してしまった。

寒くなってから、冬物のジャケットがとてもほしくなって、ようやく放置していたこちらのジャケットに肩パッドを入れてみました。

肩パッドは初めて使いましたが、こんなに違うんだ・・・と感心しました。

肩から滑り落ちるのが解消され、少し「きちんとした」シルエットになったかと思います(写真は全部肩パッドありです)。

会社には何度か着て行ったが、手作りのジャケットだから気分もあがるし、きちんとした格好をすると不思議に気持ちも引き締まるんだね。

型紙:Bernadette by Republique du Chiffon

サイズ:34(長さに2センチ足しました)

生地:表地=イタリアンウールツイード 裏地=ベンバーグ

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ にほんブログ村 にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ にほんブログ村

8 thoughts on “a cozy Bernadette

  1. What a great couture jacket! You really found the way to make it work. I can’t wait to see your next one. Too bad for your handmade gifts… I’m in the same situation: too much work and too little time. But still, life is good!

    1. Thanks! I am really glad it worked out as now it is my favourite jacket for work. I agree, life is good:-) One of my plans was to make my husband a jacket after practicing on the one I am working on.. but time wise it looks more like it will become his 2015 b-day present in Spring instead!

    1. thanks! I like your quilted Liberty version, so cute:-) I definitely want to try to make that one day.
      I wish you are my colleague, it would be fun to talk about our sewing projects at work, hehe.

Leave a Reply

