Light Trails

日本語は英文の後に続きます。For Japanese readers, Japanese text will follow below.

Hello everyone! I hope you are having a wonderful start to the year so far.  My sewing pace has been slowing down as the temperatures decrease, so no new sewing projects to show yet though perhaps one soon (if i can “rescue” it)!

While this is still more of a sewing blog than anything, I find myself truly enjoying the comfort of knitting especially this winter.  I actually finished this sweater back in September actually, and briefly introduced it in this post. If you read the post you would know that initially I was a bit on the fence about it. However, since it has gotten colder and I have been loving it and wearing it every weekend, I thought that the sweater deserves a better introduction.

lighttrails2

I used the pattern Light Trails by Suvi Simola – size 44 – made using some Ancient Arts yarns I got on sale. I love the lovely cables running from the shoulders to the arms. Although the whole bodice involved row after row of plain stockinette stitch which require a looooot of patience, I cannot say I did not enjoy knitting it because stockinette stitches are the best kind when you want to read or watch TV and knit at the same time:-)

lighttrails9

The pattern was for three-quarter sleeves, but since I had a lot of yarn left I lengthened them by quite a lot. This was originally what I did not like about it, I thought with the long sleeves it looked sloppy and oversized. Is it possible that the weather can change your fashion taste very quickly? Now I love the sweater with its long sleeves and (in this cold weather) I am so happy I lengthened them!

lighttrails6

This is completely off topic, but over the holiday sales I picked up some nice jeans (wearing in this photo) and jeggings. I rarely buy any clothes in the shops anymore – when I first started sewing, I made it a “resolution” of mine not to buy any clothes and try to make everything instead, but nowadays while I no longer impose any self-restrictions on clothes shopping, buying clothes is not so appealing for me (I really would rather use the money to buy some fabric, patterns or yarn:-) However, jeggings, jeans, pants and even jackets for work are still perhaps to advanced for me to sew (I do want to improve though), and I feel happy about finally having some new jeans in years:-)

lighttrails7

If you look carefully, you will see that the “wrong side” is used for the sleeve to give the sweater varying textures – It was my first time to see a pattern call for that, and I think the result is pretty neat!

lighttrails8

As usual, thank you for reading! I wish you a lovely remainder of January.

***

あっという間に1月の最後の週に突入。早いですね^^; 皆さんは楽しいお正月を過ごしましたか。

年明けてからはバタバタしていて洋服を縫う時間が少なかったので、ここでお披露できるものがないが、今日は昨年に編み終わったセーターを紹介します。

実はこのセーターを昨年記事でちらっとだけ紹介したことがありますが、そのときは着た感じがあまり好きじゃなかったので、セータはこのブログでちらっと紹介されたあとしばらくたんすに眠ったままでした。だが、この冬寒くなってからこのセーターをかなり愛用するようになりました。

パターンがSuvi Simolaの Light Trailsです。ゆったりしたシルエットが今っぽいのが気にいりです。元のパターンのデザインが七分袖ですが、毛糸が余ってるという単純な理由で長袖にしました。やっぱり七分袖のほうがおしゃれだ、長袖だとだぼだぼにみえると、完成品を初めて着たときは後悔したが、いまは(寒いからか)長袖にしてよかった〜と重いっています(笑)

1月2日はギャップにたまたま行ったら全店50%オフでしたので、久々にジーパンとジェギンズというものを買いました。洋服の手作りを初めてから洋服をほとんど買わなくなったが、まだ作れないもの・作る自信がないもの(ジーパンとか、職場で履けるきちんとしたパンツスーツとか、タートルニットとか)を久々に(しかも安く)手に入れたことがやっぱり嬉しい〜:-)

皆さんはお正月のセールで何か素敵な物を手に入れましたか?

最後まで読んでいただきありがとうございました。

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 編み物(Ravelryパターン)へ
にほんブログ村

8 thoughts on “Light Trails

  1. Hello, I was hoping I could pick your brains about fabric shops in Sendai and Tokyo- my friend will be going to both and I only to Sendai for work, but we’re both avid sewers and keen to find/see some Japanese fabrics. I was hoping you could make some recommendations?

    1. Hi! I was traveling so please excuse me for my late reply. I am happy to hear you will be visiting Japan. My recommendations for fabric shops are in my post here:
      https://tomatoesandjasmine.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/sewingfabric-shops-in-tokyo/

      If your friend has time, I think making the trip out to the famed “Nippori Fabric District” will be a great experience (every time I go there I wish I have more time to spend there) – the Tomato fabric department store there is the most amazing. If your friend does not have much time, I recommend Okadaya in Shinjuku, which is a fabric department store with a great selection (pls see mentioned post for hours, address, etc.)

      I am not familiar with fabric stores in Sendai but after some research online, these are the stores I think would be worth checking out:

      Yuzawaya Sendai
      3rd floor of Sendai E Beans, 4-1-1 Chuo, Aoba-ku, Sendai City
      Tel: 022(263)4147
      Hours: 10am – 8pm
      Open all year round
      http://www.yuzawaya.co.jp

      *The Sendai E-Beans Building is right at Sendai Station.
      ** Yuzawaya is a chain of craft stores that sell fabric, sewing notions, sewing machines, yarns and other craft-related goods

      Mabuchi Sendai Branch (main branch)
      7th floor of Daiei Sendai
      2-3-6 Chuo, Aoba-ku,
      Sendai City
      TEL:022-227-3456
      Hours:9:30~21:00
      Open all year round

      *this shop is also located at Sendai Station
      **Mabuchi is a chain of craft stores in Northern Japan that sell fabric, sewing notions, sewing machines, yarns and other craft-related goods
      http://www.e-mabuchi.net/

      Happy fabric shopping and wish you and your friend a wonderful trip.

      1. Thank you so much for your detailed recommendations! I can’t tell you how much you just made our day! We’ve been dreaming of fabric shopping since we found out we were going for work, but getting nervous about how to find them!

      2. Glad to be of help! If you need any more information, please let me know. I hope you will enjoy Sendai – I visited a couple of years ago and enjoyed it a lot! I hope you have time to do a bit of sightseeing – the neighbouring Matsushima is really beautiful:-)

Leave a Reply

