Yonchome dress

日本語は英文の後に続きます。Please scroll down to read the post in Japanese.

Hello!

The weather is starting to get a bit warmer in Tokyo and the sakura is blooming! So pretty… Spring is my favourite season of the year!

Well it is still not warm enough to go out without a jacket, but one can already start dreaming of warmer weather, right?

brigitte14

This is the Brigitte dress pattern from Republique du Chiffon. I previously made the Bernadette jacket, the top from the Anne-Marie set, and also Robe Melanie from the book Un Ete Couture from RDC and am always impressed with the fact that the patterns are relatively simple to make but give professional-looking results! From looking at the picture on the envelope of this pattern, I thought it would be quite difficult, but except for making the fabric-covered buttons (you can opt to use regular buttons too:-) and the button loops, it was quite a breeze to make this.

So excited about this make that I am putting up a picture of me trying to twirl the skirt, instead of the normal stiff pictures:-)

brigitte12

The fabric is also quite cool! it is Cotton & Steel cotton lawn, and I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it! I love printed fabrics but I rarely see them in cotton lawn so I had to get some! I didn’t even know I was going to make Brigitte with it at the time, but it is a good match, no? What’s great about it is that it doesn’t wrinkle much – I am wearing this for the second time in this picture (without ironing before that) – not bad!

Okay, back to the usual stiff pose…^_^;

brigitte15

There isn’t much else to say about the pattern itself, as mentioned above it was a straight-forward make. What I like most about the pattern is the waist with the gathers. Since I have a rectangular body shape, it is nice to have a little waist definition created by the waistband with gathers above and below it, and I prefer this to putting an elastic inside.  I made a size 36, and the only modification (other than adding the usual 2 cm length to the bodice and 1 cm length to the skirt) is to not add the sleeve bands. I saw Merci Patron’s lovely version made leaving off the sleeve bands and decided to follow suit – glad I did as I like it this way much better and it would fit better under cardigans this way anyway:-)

The front has 10 buttons! It was a bit fiddly making the button loops and fabric-covered buttons but I love the result!

brigitte19

The little gathers in various places make for such simple but pretty detailing…

brigitte20

brigitte23 brigitte24

Have you had any “love at first sight” fabrics recently?

Thanks for reading and have a nice weekend!

***

こんにちは。

今日紹介したいのは、Republique du Chiffonというフランス型紙ブランドのBrigitteというワンピースです。以前もこのブランドのシャネル風ジャケットワンピーストップスを作りましたが、簡単に作れるのにおしゃれなものができるので海外パターンの中では一番好きです。

元のデザインには肩から少し出たとても短い袖がありますが、Merci Patronさんの素敵なノースリーブ版をみてから袖を付けないことにしました。このほうがすっきりしてカーディガンと合わせてもいいので気に入ってます。後は身頃とスカートに長さを少し加えただけで、パターンの補正なしで仮縫いなしで本番に挑みました。10個のくるみボタンとボタンループを作るのに時間がかかったがそれ以外は本当にあっという間にできました。生地は透けないので、気になることになったらスリップを着ればいいかと思って裏地を付けなかったです。

生地はCotton & Steelのコットンローンで、生地屋さんのネットショップで一目惚れして衝動買いしたものです^^

皆さんは最近、一目惚れの生地との出会いがありましたか。

読んでいただきありがとうございました♪

にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ ソーイング(縫い物)へ
にほんブログ村
にほんブログ村 ハンドメイドブログ 洋服(洋裁)へ
にほんブログ村

23 thoughts on “Yonchome dress

  1. Yes, I also love this fabric, and I’m glad to hear it’s nice to work with and doesn’t crease! The buttons and loops look so elegant, lovely work.

  2. Lovely! This dress is much, much more interesting in your version, without the awkward square sleeves (also seen on Koko top by Named patterns). You selected the perfect fabric and the result is simply perfect for your silhouette. Bravo!

    1. Thank you for your compliment Hélène!🙂 “Yonchome” is part of a Japanese address suffix which comes after the name of an area to specify further the zone of the area – “yon” is the number 4 and “chome” refers to zone/area. I was getting a bit nostalgic about a zone No. 4 close to heart as I was making this dress, hence decided to name it “Yonchome”.

    1. Thank you for your compliment:-)
      The pattern says on a difficulty level it is a 3 out of 4, but the instructions (in French) were quite clear and the important parts are illustrated, so I did not have any problems at all. I have been sewing for 2 and a half years now. The only challenging part was making the button loops and button loop panel (ensuring they are the same size, spaced evenly etc.) but it just took a bit of time and patience. I hope you will try it!

  3. What a lovely dress, it’s very elegant with the covered buttons, loops and discreet gathers but also youthful thanks to the fabric you chose!

Leave a Reply

